| | Organising Task Team | Advisory Panel |

  • Articles in the Medical Chronicle from 2010-11 provide more background on our initial launch work
  • Old newsletters from 2010-11 are here;
  • Introduction to BCA - presentation.

The Campaign was launched in August 2009. What was initially a campaign to reduce healthcare-associated infections and introduce antibiotic stewardship to the South African setting has become a movement of people passionate about improving healthcare using the science of improvement.

The Best Care Always Campaign (or 'BCA' as it is commonly referred to) has gone beyond these initial interventions and now focuses on developing improvement capability in South Africa. This is achieved largely through our annual Quality Improvement Summits and collaborative learning sessions.

Organising Task Team

The team includes representatives of:

Task Team Member
Primary Institutional Affiliation
Contact Email
Yolanda Walsh
Dr Dena van den Bergh
Dr Gary Kantor
Discovery Health
Isabella Mphuthi
Clinix Group
Dr Lloyd Kaseke
Life Healthcare
Dr Paul Soko
Discovery Health
Sandra Brenon

Advisory Panel

The following experts provide input and advice to the Best Care Always Campaign
Advisory Member Name
Primary Institutional Affiliation
Dr Adrian Brink
AMPATH, Milpark Hospital, Jhb
Dr Gerry Capatos
Life Glynwood
Prof Marc Cotton
University of Stellenbosch, Tygerberg Academic Hospital
Dr Johan De Jager
Netcare Unitas Hospital
Prof Adriano Duse
National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS)
Dr Gene Elliot
National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS)
Prof Norman Faull
Graduate School of Business, UCT
Mr Andrew Gray
Nelson R Mandela School of Medicine, UKZN
Dr Adri Kok
Union Hospital, Alberton
Prof Shaheen Mehtar
Unit for IPC, Tygerberg Hospital
Prof Marc Mendelson
Division of Infectious Disease and HIV Medicine - University of Cape Town
Dr Johan Moolman
Lancet Laboratories, Pretoria
Dr Olga Petrovic
National Health Laboratory Service
Prof Guy Richards
Director Critical Care CM JHB Hospital
Dr Marthinus Senekal
Dr Andrew Whitelaw
National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS)
Dr Inge Zietsman
AMPATH National Laboratories
Prof Stuart Whittaker
Dr Carol Marshall
National Department of Health
Prof Mervyn Mer
University of Witwatersrand, CM JHB
Dr Ivan Joubert
Groote Schuur Hospital, UCT
Dr Andrew Argent
Red Cross War Memorial Childrens' Hospital