About Us



Although much has been learned, and improvement has occurred, much is left to do.

QI Summits

Western Cape BCA Collaborative 2011-2012 (Breakthrough Series)


Who was (is) BCA?

A group of “quality activists” initiated and ran the campaign, with the support of the participating organisations with whom they were affiliated or employed. They are listed in alphabetical order:

  • Farzaneh Behroozi
  • Sandra Brenon
  • Lauren de Kock
  • Dr Gareth Kantor (co-founder)
  • Dr Lloyd Kaseke
  • Isabella Mphuthi
  • Dr Dumani Kula
  • Dr Paul Soko
  • Dr Dena van den Bergh (co-founder)
  • Dr Michele Youngleson
  • Yolanda Walsh

The participating organisations included:

  • Major private hospital groups: Life Healthcare, Mediclinic, Netcare, NHN, Clinix
  • Hospital Association of South Africa (HASA)
  • Public sector representatives from Gauteng, W Cape and other provinces
  • Discovery Health

During the campaign, many experts provided advice to the Best Care Always Campaign. They are listed in alphabetical order, with their primary institutional affiliation at the time of the campaign:

  • Prof Andrew Argent – Red Cross War Memorial Childrens’ Hospital
  • Dr Zameer Brey – UCT
  • Dr Adrian Brink – AMPATH, Milpark Hospital
  • Dr Gerry Capatos – Life Glynwood Hospital
  • Prof Marc Cotton – University of Stellenbosch, Tygerberg Academic Hospital
  • Dr Johan De Jager – Netcare Unitas Hospital
  • Prof Adriano Duse – National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS)
  • Dr Gene Elliot – National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS)
  • Prof Norman Faull – Graduate School of Business, UCT
  • Dr Kim Faure – Independent consultant
  • Mr Andrew Gray – Nelson R Mandela School of Medicine, UKZN
  • Dr Adri Kok – Union Hospital, Alberton
  • Dr Carol Marshall – National Department of Health
  • Prof Shaheen Mehtar – Unit for IPC, Tygerberg Hospital
  • Prof Marc Mendelson – Division of Infectious Disease and HIV Medicine, UCT
  • Prof Mervyn Mer – University of Witwatersrand, Charlotte Maxeke Hospital
  • Dr Johan Moolman – Lancet Laboratories, Pretoria
  • Dr Olga Petrovic – National Health Laboratory Service
  • Prof Guy Richards – University of Witwatersrand, Charlotte Maxeke Hospital
  • Dr Marthinus Senekal – Pathcare Laboratories
  • Dr Andrew Whitelaw – National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS)
  • Prof Stuart Whittaker – COHSASA
  • Dr Inge Zietsman – AMPATH National Laboratories

Last, but not least, sponsors were vital to the campaign. The principal sponsor was Discovery Health. HASA – the Hospital Association of South Africa – hosted and subsidised the BCA Improvement Summits. Sponsors are listed here in alphabetical order, with amounts they contributed during campaign initiation:

  • Discovery Health Platinum and Founding sponsor (R1.5 million)
  • Janssen Gold and Founding sponsor (R100,000)
  • HASA Founding sponsor & administrative support
  • Medical Chronicle Publication support
  • Astra-Zeneca R500,000
  • Fresenius Kabi R250,000
  • AICC R250,000
  • B.Braun R100,000
  • J&J R150,000
  • 3M R50,000
  • Aspen

Applying scientific improvement methods to health systems.